County Commissioners

Brian Smith, Chairman

Commissioner Brian Smith

Jocelyn Cramer, Vice Chair

Commissioner Jocelyn Cramer

James Shook

Commissioner James Shook

About the Commissioners

Wayne County is a sixth-class county and governed by a board of three county commissioners elected every four years by the voters. The Board of Commissioners oversee the entire fiscal operation of the county and represent the best interests of the citizens. Counties are required by law to provide certain services to their citizens. Each county performs a wide range of different functions including community development and environmental planning, overseeing elections and providing a wide array of human services. The Commissioners are also responsible for administering the budget for the Court of Common Pleas and the magisterial district courts and protecting public health and safety. To fund all these important programs, counties rely on taxes based on the value of real estate in the community. Real estate includes the buildings and land associated with homes and businesses.

The Board of Commissioners serve as both the executive and legislative branches of government. They approve budgets, oversee spending and hire employees. The Commissioners’ Office also serves as the county’s Business Office. (Learn more)


The Wayne County Commissioners hold weekly Work sessions on Tuesday of each week  at 10:30 a.m.  These are discussion meetings on future agenda items requiring formal decisions or approvals as well as a time to receive information from various organizations or individuals on topics of interest.  

Business meetings are held each Thursday at 10:30 a.m.  

All meetings are held in the Commissioners Meeting Room, 3rd Floor, Court House Annex, Honesdale. Both sessions are open to the public.  

The Chief Clerk is both a public officer and employee of the county that occupies a permanent position of trust and responsibility. Most of the official business of the county as well as management of the calendar for the Board of Commissioners is directed by the Chief Clerk.

To schedule a time to appear on an agenda for either the work session or business meeting or to discuss matters that require the attention of the county Commissioners should contact Andrew M. Seder, Chief Clerk at 570-253-5970 ext. 4050 or

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent  Agendas and Minutes